Back to Press Releases

Press Release

Alabama League of Municipalities Elects New President and Vice President

May 20, 2024

Alabama League of Municipalities Elects New President and Vice PresidentThe League’s immediate past president, Hartselle Mayor Randy Garrison, passed the leadership gavel to President Mark Saliba on May 17, 2024. Pictured left to right: Dothan Mayor Mark Saliba, and Hartselle Mayor Randy Garrison.

HUNTSVILLE, AL – The Alabama League of Municipalities (ALM) on Friday elected Mark Saliba, mayor of Dothan, as its new president and Sherry Sullivan, mayor of Fairhope, as its new vice president during the business session of the League’s 2024 Convention and Expo on Friday at the Von Braun Center. Over 700 municipal officials from around the state attended this three-day convention to discuss legislative issues, hear from state leaders, share resources and conduct official business. The president and vice president will serve in these capacities for one year and will represent the organization’s more than 450 member cities and towns at meetings and events that aim to give municipalities a voice on local, state and federal levels. 

“We are excited to have Mayor Saliba and Mayor Sullivan represent our organization as president and vice president during the 2024-2025 year,” Greg Cochran, executive director of the League, said. “Both of their communities, Dothan and Fairhope, are seeing tremendous growth and projects coming to their areas of the state thanks to their impeccable leadership. We look forward to seeing them bring their unique skill sets to our membership as they lead us into our 90th year of service as the voice of Alabama’s municipalities.”   

President Saliba previously served as the League’s vice president from 2023-2024, chair of the League’s Committee on State and Federal Legislation from 2022-2023 and represented the second congressional district on the League’s Board of Directors. He was first elected mayor of Dothan in 2017 and was reelected in 2021. He is also president of the Alfred Saliba Corporation, his family’s home building business. 

“I am honored to serve as the next president of the Alabama League of Municipalities, and I am eager to continue sharing the importance of municipal government with our members and the public,” President Saliba said. “Being a member of ALM is like having an extra department to help you run your cities and towns. From legislative advocacy to municipal training and a variety of member programs, the services and activities they provide are impossible to accomplish alone.”  

Vice President Sullivan is in her first term as mayor of Fairhope. Prior to running for mayor, she worked for the city of Fairhope for almost 17 years and also worked for Riviera Utilities as director of governmental affairs and economic development. Mayor Sullivan has served as a member of the League’s Board of Directors for the first congressional district, the League’s Committee on State and Federal Legislation and on the organization’s Alabama Municipal Funding Corporation’s Board of Directors. 

“I am sincerely humbled to represent the League’s membership as vice president as we work to make our communities more attractive places to recruit businesses, raise families and create recreational and work opportunities,” Vice President Sullivan said. “I look forward to working with President Saliba and my fellow local officials to make all of our communities better for the great citizens of Alabama.”  

The League also elected the following municipal leaders to serve on the 2024-2025 Board of Directors:

From the First Congressional District:

  1. Jim Staff, Mayor, Atmore
  2. Katherine Breeden, Councilmember, Loxley
  3. Mike McMillan, Mayor, Spanish Fort
  4. Newton Cromer, Councilmember, Saraland
  5. Ruthie Campbell, Councilmember, Robertsdale

From the Second Congressional District:

  1. Marche Johnson, Councilmember, Montgomery
  2. Gordon Stone, Mayor, Pike Road
  3. Dexter McClendon, Mayor, Greenville
  4. Jason Reeves, Mayor, Troy
  5. Stanley Stallworth, Mayor, Evergreen 

From the Third Congressional District:

  1. Rusty Jessup, Mayor, Riverside 
  2. Billy Pearson, Councilmember, Lincoln
  3. Ron Anders, Mayor, Auburn 
  4. Michael Ellis, Councilmember, LaFayette
  5. Scott Reeves, Mayor, Hokes Bluff

From the Fourth Congressional District:

  1. Jennifer Williams Smith, Councilmember, Jasper 
  2. Allen Dunavant, Mayor, Glen Allen 
  3. Chuck Ables, Mayor, Geraldine 
  4. Andrew Betterton, Mayor, Florence
  5. Mike Lockhart, Mayor, Muscle Shoals

From the Fifth Congressional District:

  1. Dana Henry, Councilmember, Athens
  2. Gary Livingston, Mayor, Eva
  3. Jim McCamy, Mayor, Scottsboro
  4. Tommy Perry, Councilmember, Priceville 
  5. Connie Spears, Councilmember, Madison

From the Sixth Congressional District:

  1. Mike Oakley, Mayor, Centreville
  2. Ashley Curry, Mayor, Vestavia Hills
  3. Bobbie White, Mayor, Brent
  4. Michael Gay, Councilmember, Millbrook
  5. Theangelo Perkins, Mayor, Harpersville

From the Seventh Congressional District:

  1. Bobby Scott, Mayor, Center Point
  2. James Perkins Jr., Mayor, Selma
  3. Gwendolyn Rogers, Mayor, Linden
  4. Brian Puckett, Mayor, Helena
  5. Sheldon Day, Mayor, Thomasville

Executive Committee Members (Active Past Presidents)

  • Randy Garrison, Mayor, Hartselle (2023-24)
  • Lawrence “Tony” Haygood Jr., Mayor, Tuskegee (2022-23)
  • Gary Fuller, Mayor, Opelika (2021-22)
  • Leigh Dollar, Mayor, Guntersville (2020-21)
  • Ronnie Marks, Mayor, Athens (2019-20)
  • Howard Rubenstein, Mayor, Saraland (2016-18)
  • Phil Segraves, Mayor, Guin (2016)
  • Sadie Britt, Councilmember, Lincoln (2015-16)
  • Walt Maddox, Mayor, Tuscaloosa (2013-14)
  • Charles Murphy, Mayor, Robertsdale (2010-11)
  • Lew Watson, Mayor, Lincoln (2006-07)
  • Johnny Ford, Councilmember, Tuskegee (1989-90)

The Alabama League of Municipalities is a nonpartisan membership association of over 450 incorporated cities and towns. Since 1935, the League has worked to strengthen municipal government through advocacy, training and the advancement of effective local leadership. As the recognized voice of Alabama’s cities and towns, the League’s member municipalities benefit from a variety of member programs, services and activities that are impossible to accomplish alone. Learn more at